

Australian Indian Medical Association Inc

Minutes of AIMA AGM 22 August 2021

- 1. Attendance and apologies:
 - a. Meeting started at 10:12 AM.
 - b. Welcome by Dr. Parshotam Gera.
 - i. AIMA membership- Currently 362 paid members.
 - ii. Members in attendance 135 (126 on site and 9 by Virtual video link)
 - iii. Apologies received from few members
- **2. Acknowledgements and Welcome:** Members were welcomed, and all attendees were acknowledged. Dr Parshotam Gera thanked all past presidents for their support and presence.
- 3. Approval of minutes of previous AGM 30 August 2020:
 - a. Proposed by Dr. Deepak Mehrotra
 - b. Seconded by Dr. Abhey Singh
- 4. President's report and AIMA house project: by current President

Dr Satish Devata (please see Appendix 1: Slides of presentation)

- a. Quorum achieved of 126 members on site and 9 members via video link at 10:45 AM (please see Appendix 2: Register of attendance)
- **5. Treasurer's report- by Dr. Sree Krishna Chowdavarapu** (please see Appendix 3: Financial Report)

- a. Profit made for last financial year 2020-21: \$ 58,574
- b. Current funds in the bank: \$135,730
- c. Members lauded the financial position and thanked Dr. Sree Krishna Chowdavarapu for his succinct report.

6. Presentation of AIMA revamped constitution 2021:

- a. Started at 10:55 AM.
- b. Introduced by Dr. Satish Devata and Dr. Mayank Bhandari.
- c. Constitution timeline
 - i. Released to members for comment on 15th July 2021
 - ii. Comments for members closed 25th July 2021
 - iii. Final draft released to members on 1st Aug 2021
 - iv. Special resolution motion on 22nd Aug 2021

Floor was opened for questions. No questions were raised, so revamped constitution draft was adopted unanimously.

- **7. Special Resolution:** Motion was presented by Dr Satish Devata- "The Draft Constitution presented be adopted"
 - a. Acceptance proposed by Dr Anjali Gadre and Dr Ajay Sharma and seconded by Dr Gayatri Borude at 11 AM.
 - b. Floor of all members presented accepted the motion unanimously.

8. General Business:

a. Dr. Divya Sharma had queries regarding a couple of points, she had not read the constitution but was satisfied once Dr. Parshotam Gera showed her the points in the constitution. She then proceeded to congratulate the committee for the good work of the past year.

- b. Dr. Jagdish Krishnan- suggested that AIMA members who have not been in the Committee could also be considered in the AIMA Trustees for the AIMA house not necessarily the past Committee members. Supported by Dr. Jagdish Jamboti. Explained by Dr Satish Devata and Dr. Mayank Bhandari that knowledge of working of the executive committee is essential but members will be inducted in the future on an as needed basis.
- c. Dr. Jagdish Jamboti suggested that we should have minimum number of 3 Ladies in the committee not 2. Dr. Ashwini Davray explained that this refers only to the minimum number not the total number of Ladies in the committee. As there can be as many as 9 lady members but each committee requires at least a minimum of 2.
- 9. Exchange of Presidency & New Presidents address- Dr. Satish Devata handed over the baton to Dr. Mayank Bhandari for the next 12 months as Dr. Mayank Bhandari becomes President and Dr. Satish Devata the Vice President. Dr. Mayank Bhandari accepted and thanked members for the approval of the constitution today. He appreciated the time, devotion and vision provided by Dr. Satish Devata in the last 12 months. He declared that the current committee would continue to carry forward the AIMA House vision. Members welcomed Dr. Mayank Bhandari

10. Vote of Thanks:

- a. A tribute to Dr. Satish Devata by Dr. Sanjay Mukhedkar for his tireless work and vision. Standing ovation given by the members to Dr. Satish Devata.
- b. Vote of thanks delivered by Dr. Arpita Ghosh
- c. Video presentation of 5 minutes About AIMA & the new AIMA Way.
- d. Group Photos

11. Close of meeting at 11:25 AM

Note:

Appendix 1: Slides of President's Speech

Appendix 2: Register of attendance

Appendix 3: Financial Report

Dr Satish Devata

Outgoing AIMA President

2020-21

Mayank Bhandari

Dr Mayank Bhandari Incoming AIMA President

2021-22